Do you enjoy watching the Eurovision Song Contest every year to see which country has the best music and entertainment value? Well, with the outbreak of Covid-19 you might be unsure how you’re going to celebrate and get involved this year. Don’t worry there’s lots of things in store for you! Each country has different plans for their loyal Eurovision fans. This blog will tell you about the BBC’s plans to get everyone together socially distanced and look back on some previous years to remember why we love the contest.

Fact File

  1. The Eurovision Song Contest started in 1956 with just seven countries.
  2. The UK started participating in 1957.
  3. 52 countries have participated in the contest.
  4. 27 different countries have won.
  5. The UK have won 5 times. The last time the UK won was in 1997 with the performance of Katrina & the Waves.
  6. The Netherlands won 2019 Eurovision Song Contest.
  7. Ireland have won the contest the most, winning 7 times.
  8. Johnny Logan for Ireland won twice, in 1980 and 1987.
  9. ABBA were Sweden’s first win in 1974 with the song ‘Waterloo’. Sweden went on to win a further four times.
  10. The UK gave ABBA ‘nul-points’ for their 1974 performance.

This year the Eurovision celebrations will begin on Monday 11th May. The BBC are hosting a number of different events on TV and Radio.

On Saturday 16th May at 6:30pm (UK time), Graham Norton will be hosting Eurovision: Come together on BBC1 which will give viewers the opportunity to cast their own votes. He will be joined by the UK’s 2020 Artist James Newman. Rylan Clark will then go through all the Eurovisoin highlights on BBC2 at 10pm (UK time).

With Ireland being one of the most successful countries in Eurovision contest history they will be going back 50 years and broadcasting the show Dana – The Original Derry Girl. The show takes a look at the young schoolgirl’s incredible life story and her path to becoming Ireland’s first Eurovision winner in 1970, when she was still just a schoolgirl with song ‘All Kinds of Everything’. This will be aired on BBC1 Northern Ireland on 11th May at 10:45pm (UK time) and will be repeated on 15th May at 11pm (UK time) on BBC4.

Find out more about other county’s plans to celebrate this year here:


Sandie Shaw

First winner for the UK was Sandie Shaw in 1967 with her iconic performance of ‘Puppet On A String’.


Second winner for the UK was Lulu in 1969, just two years after Sandie. Her winning song was ‘Boom Bang-a-Bang’.

Brotherhood of Man

In 1976 Brotherhood of Man won with hit ‘Save Your Kisses For Me’ and this has remained one of the contests highest selling songs.

Bucks Fizz

This band won with one of their three UK number one singles, “Making Your Mind Up’ in 1981.

Katrina & the Waves:

The most recent winner for the UK is the band Katrina & the Waves. Their song was called Love Shine A Light which will also be broadcast live on BBC1. Their performance got 227 points back in 1997. The band are also known for their 1985 big hit ‘Walking on Sunshine’.

The Eurovision wouldn’t be the same without some crazy, caring-worthy, astonishing performances that you just can’t forget! Take a look back at some of these…

1999 the year I was born, Charlotte Perrelli representing Sweden won the Eurovision Song Contest. Who were the winners the year you were born?

Do not miss out on our Eurovision Competition for your chance to win up to a £100’s worth of vouchers!

By Gabby

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: